Publicat de: leonard oprea | 2 Septembrie 2013

A Tale of Revelation


leonard oprea

A Tale of Revelation

All his life, Itzak Abramovich had been a decent, honorable man. He had looked after his family and his clock repair shop, so that only a few odd people could ever find anything to reproach and gossip when it came down to him. Moreover, Itzak Abramovich stuck to his daily prayer, always ate kosher, observed the Sabbath, read the Holy Books, went to the synagogue – in short, he was one who feared God.

All was fine and to a good purpose, until one morning when Itzak Abramovich burst into the rabbi’s office. The rabbi’s secretary was desperately hanging from his arm, but nothing in the world could have stopped Itzak Abramovich.

The rabbi saw the wild countenance and the gleaming eyes of the decent and honorable clock-maker, so with a brief gesture he dismissed his secretary who left the room, quietly closing the door behind him.

‘Why, Itzak Abramovich, what a pleasure. Come, don’t just stand there, I’m not going to bite. It’s been quite a while now, hasn’t it? Please, sit. There… Now, whatever is the matter, Itzak? Would you like a glass of water? You may even smoke, if it is any comfort…’

‘Rabbi! O, Rabbi, I had a dream!’

The rabbi sighed with relief. ‘Praise the Lord, there is no tragedy here’, he told himself and, running his fingers through his thin, ash-gray beard, he sank in his armchair.

‘Do tell, my dear Itzak, do tell. What dream?’

‘Rabbi, last night I had a wonderful dream… Wonderful and frightening, Rabbi. I cannot tell… I lived a quiet life for fifty years and, look now, just last night… Forgive me, Rabbi, but if I hadn’t come to see you, I would have gone crazy…’

‘All right, all right, but tell me all about it, my dear Itzak’, the rabbi smiled.

‘Rabbi, last night I dreamt Jacob’s Ladder.’

‘And–what was it like?’

‘Well–everything the book says… “And he dreamed, and behold a ladder set up on the earth, and the top of it reached to heaven: and behold the angels of God ascending and descending on it.”

The rabbi could read terror in the eyes of Itzak Abramovich and he cut him short authoritatively:

‘And what were you doing there, Itzak?’

‘Frankly, Rabbi, at first I just stood there staring – it was so beautiful… And all the angels ascending and descending… Then, I don’t know what came over me, I had this sudden urge and braced myself and went sneaking through the angels, hiding behind them, then I started ascending. I was careful to stick to the middle of the ladder – it had no railings and I have this fear of heights…’

Itzak Abramovich stopped, swallowed a few times, looked at the rabbi, saw him calm and smiling, so he went on with his dream:

‘So there I was – climbing, excited, not too frightened though, rather happy, I told myself I may get to see God… I ascended for a long time. But suddenly, I don’t know what came over me and I looked around: the angels kept ascending and descending – there’s so many of them, Rabbi… but there was nothing besides them and the ladder. Nothing at all. Only a white light, like an endless curtain of pure water through which you can see a long way in the distance – you can see just that… Rabbi… and I really wanted to see God so much, but I was seized with such fear… God, such a terrible fear! Rabbi, I thought I was going to die, I was so scared!’

‘All right, Itzak. Come, now, calm down. Go on, tell me’, the rabbi sighed.

‘I don’t know, Rabbi… But I couldn’t stand the terror and I started to run madly. All I could see was that the angels somehow seemed to make room for me… and it seemed, really, Rabbi, that God Himself called out to me not to be afraid… But I was so terrified that I ran even harder. And the closer I got to the ground the more I prayed that God help me reach you sooner, Rabbi, that you may help me… And when I woke up I was so horrified that I even said my prayers in a hurry that I may rush here to you…’

The hands of Itzak Abramovich had started to fly around, his lips were quivering, and the rabbi saw that it was fit he should tell him:

‘Do calm yourself, my dear Itzak Abramovich. Enough,’ he shouted, ‘you are alive, you are awake, and you are not going to die too soon, seeing that you are a decent, honorable man, and I will pray for you. Enough!’

Itzak Abramovich froze like a first grader who got caught with a poorly written homework and, on top of it, furtively eating the sandwich he had forgotten about while playing during the break.

‘Very well, Itzak. Look, you are here, safe and sound. Yet I cannot but feel there is something else on your mind. Come, tell’, the rabbi invited him.

‘Please, Rabbi, tell me, for I wronged no one in fifty years, is this a sign…’

The rabbi looked at Itzak Abramovich very intensely, then he placed his hand over the man’s hand, on the side of the desk and spoke in a slow, fatherly voice:

‘My dear Itzak, confess to me, how did that ladder seem to you?’

‘Endless, Rabbi. And I was so lonely…’

‘You see, Itzak, had you felt differently, your dream would have been a revelation. But as things stand, it was just a dream.’

‘O, Rabbi, what a relief’, Itzak smiled the tears making his voice coarse.

‘Just a dream’, the rabbi smiled candidly.

***

Poveste despre Revelaţie

 

Toată viaţa lui, Iţic Abramovici fusese un om tare cumsecade şi cinstit. Îşi văzuse de familie şi de atelierul lui de ceasornicărie astfel încît puţini şi de mirare erau aceia care ar fi avut ceva de cîrîit, de bîrfit cînd venea vorba despre el. Mai mult, Iţic Abramovici îşi spunea zilnic rugăciunile, nu mînca decît cuşer, ţinea Sabatul, citea Cărţile Sfinte, mergea la sinagogă, adică, ce mai încoace şi‑n colo, era un om cu frică de Dumnezeu.

Toate bune şi frumoase şi cu folos, pînă‑ntr‑o dimineaţă cînd Iţic Abramovici dădu buzna în biroul rabinului. De braţul lui se agăţase cu disperare secre­tarul rabinului, dar nimic şi nimeni din lume n‑ar fi reuşit să‑l oprească pe Iţic Abramovici.

Rabbi văzu pe dată chipul răvăşit, ochii sticlind ai ceasornicarului cel cumsecade şi cinstit, şi făcu un semn scurt cu mîna secretarului, care părăsi imediat încăperea închizînd uşa după el.

– Iţic Abramovici, ce plăcere. Hai, nu sta aşa,  că doar nu te mănînc. N‑ai mai fost de mult pe la mine. Ia loc, te rog. Aşa… Ce s‑a întîmplat, Iţic? Vrei un pahar cu apă? Poţi să fumezi, dacă asta te linişteşte…

– Rabbi! Rabbi, am avut un vis!

Rabinul răsuflă uşurat: „Nu, slavă Domnului, nu e nici o tragedie”, îşi spuse şi, mîngîindu‑şi barba rară, cenuşie, se aşeză în fotoliu.

– Spune, spune, măi Iţic. Ce vis?

– Rabbi, azi noapte am avut un vis minunat… Minunat şi înspăimîntător. Rabbi. Nu ştiu… Am trăit cincizeci de ani liniştit şi uite, tocmai azi noapte… Iartă‑mă Rabbi, dar dacă nu veneam la tine simţeam că‑nnebunesc…

– Bine, bine, dar povesteşte o dată, măi Iţic, zîmbi rabinul.

– Rabbi, azi noapte am visat Scara lui Iacov.

– Şi, cum era?

– Păi… cum scrie… „Şi a visat o scară rezemată de pămînt, al cărei vîrf ajungea pînă la cer. Îngerii lui Dumnezeu se suiau şi se pogorau pe scara aceea.”

Rabinul citi spaima ce apăruse în ochii lui Iţic Abramovici şi îl întrerupse destul de autoritar:

– Şi tu ce făceai acolo, măi Iţic?

– Rabbi, sincer să fiu, la început căscam gura şi mă holbam, că era aşa de frumoasă… Şi toţi îngerii ăia care urcau şi coborau, urcau şi coborau… Pe urmă, nu ştiu ce m‑a apucat şi mi‑a venit aşa o dorinţă de mare că mi‑am luat inima în dinţi şi, strecurîndu‑mă printre îngeri, mai ascuns ba după unul, ba după altul, am început să urc. Nu mă depărtam de mijlocul scării că n‑avea balustrade şi eu am rău de înălţime…

Iţic Abramovici se opri din povestit, înghiţi de cîteva ori în sec, îl studie pe Rabbi şi‑l văzu liniştit, zîmbitor, aşa că îşi depănă în continuare visul:

– Şi am urcat aşa, cu emoţii, dar nu prea temător, chiar vesel aş zice, căci îmi spuneam că poate‑L văd pe Dumnezeu… Am urcat aşa multă vreme. Dar la un moment dat, nu ştiu ce m‑a apucat şi am privit în jur: îngerii urcau şi coborau întruna, mulţi mai sînt Rabbi, însă în afară de ei şi scară – nimic. Dar, ni‑mic. Doar lumină albă, ca o nesfîrşită perdea de apă curată prin care vezi şi vezi cît cuprinzi cu ochii doar asta… Rabbi… şi chiar vroiam mult să‑L văd pe Dumnezeu, dar aşa o spaimă m‑a apucat… Aşa o spaimă, Doamne. Rabbi, am crezut că mor de spaimă!

– Bine, Iţic. Ei hai, linişteşte‑te. Hai, spune, oftă rabinul.

– Rabbi, nu ştiu… Dar n‑am mai putut de spaimă şi‑am început să alerg de‑mi sfîrîiau călcîiele. Am apucat să văd cum îngerii parcă‑mi făceau loc… Şi parcă, zău Rabbi, chiar Dumnezeu mă striga să nu‑mi fie teamă… Dar aşa o frică de moarte mi‑a fost că mai tare fugeam. Şi pe măsură ce mă apro­piam de pămînt mă gîndeam să mă ajute Dumnezeu să ajung mai repede la tine, Rabbi, să mă ajuţi…  Şi cum m‑am trezit, am fost aşa de îngrozit că şi rugăciunile mi le‑am spus în fugă ca să alerg, să vin aici…

Iţic Abramovici începuse să dea din mîini, buzele îi tremurau şi rabinul înţelese că trebuie să‑i spună:

– Măi Iţic Abramovici, dar linişteşte‑te odată. Gata, se răsti el, eşti viu, eşti treaz şi nu o să mori curînd că eşti un om cumsecade şi cinstit, iar eu am să mă rog pentru tine. Gata!

Iţic Abramovici încremeni ca un elev din clasa întîi prins că nu şi‑a scris corect tema şi pe deasupra mai şi mănîncă pe ascuns sandvişul de care uitase, jucîndu‑se în pauză.

– Bravo, Iţic. Uite, eşti aici, teafăr şi nevătămat. Cred însă că mai ai ceva pe suflet. Hai, spune, îl îndemnă rabinul.

– Rabbi, spune‑mi şi mie te rog, că n‑am greşit cu nimic, nimănui, şi am cincizeci de ani, este un semn ăsta…?

Rabinul îl privi cu mare atenţie pe Iţic Abramovici, apoi îşi puse mîna peste palma omului, sprijinită pe marginea biroului, şi vorbi rar, cu voce de părinte:

– Măi Iţic, mărturiseşte‑mi tu mie, cum ţi s‑a părut scara aceea?

– Nesfîrşită, Rabbi. Şi eram atît de singur…

– Vezi Iţic, dacă ai fi simţit altfel, visul tău ar fi fost o revelaţie. Dar aşa, a fost doar un vis.

– Oh, Rabbi, ce uşurare, zîmbi Iţic cu tremur în glas.

– Doar un vis, îi zîmbi curat Rabbi.

***
Trilogy of Theophil Magus – the Truth

(“Xlibris”/Random House Ventures, 2008, USA /Library of Congress Control Number: 2008901520/ ISBN: Hardcover 978-1-4363-2366-6/Softcover 978-1-4363-2365-9)

 

(In Trilogy of Theophil Magus’ 40 Tales about Man, a great variety of sacred and profane themes, archaic, mythical, contemporary /Moses, Gandhi, Christmas, children, journalism, pilgrimage etc./serves as vivid stimulation for this literary adventure, written with humor, knowledge and wit…in an inviting dialogue with the reader. /Norman Manea – American novelist, essayist);(The Truth, the second book of Trilogy of Theophil Magus is situated in the strange no man’s land where everyday life becomes truly magical. I consider these writings as splendid expressions of a unique vision of our fragmented but marvelously exciting world. Leonard Oprea’s style combines a discovery of hidden meanings of words with a fabulous sense of secret humor. His works received the highest praises from the most influential critics, who rightly compared his vision to works by Thomas Mann, Borges or Paulo Coelho./ Vladimir Tismăneanu – American philosopher, author, essayist); (Leonard Oprea’s 40 Tales of Trilogy of Theophil Magus – The Truth, range from the depiction of the everyday to the mythological and Borgesian to the religious. Honored with numbers of prizes in his native Romania, this writer is a true iconoclast and a true talent./ Adam J.Sorkin – American author, essayist, editor)

Lasă un răspuns

Categorii

