Publicat de: leonard oprea | 19 Mai 2011

leonard oprea the FUNKY TALE of DEATH ANGEL


 

leonard oprea

THE QUESTION OF THE DEATH ANGEL

 

Motto:

“ … and today why do not you ask yourself: … and today ?! …”

(Theophil Magus)

***

One a good day, God called the Angel of Death and talked to him:

  • Look, there is a simple man, with a lot of common sense and, even, in his way, a wise man; he’s a good husband and a good father; still, you know that… he’s hour has coming. This man is not Job, not Jonah, neither Joseph and nor other like every one of them. But, just because of these reasons, I, God – yes, I want to give him the chance to defeat his death…

***

The Death Angel came in the dream of that man and told him:

  • I am here to take your life. I will behead you. So, what will be with your body?

In his dream, that man answered:

  • I don’t know… Maybe the worms… However, my body was always in my mind…

The Death Angel asked him again:

  • Hmm, yes… And, what will be with your heart after I will behead you?

In his dream, that man answered:

  • I do not know… Maybe the worms… However, my heart was in my body and in my mind and beyond all these you know, always…

The Death Angel put one more question:

  • Why do you believe all these?

In his dream, that man answered:

  • I do not know… Maybe the worms… However, the Love exists and, God knows or, does He not know this ?

***

The Death Angel came back to God and said:

  • Lord, this man is so strange… I gave him the life …

God smiled and asked:

  • You, what do you believe?

The Angel of Death, for a while, hesitated… Then, he dared:

  • My great and good God, who are You ?

***

“ … that night – the whisper…/

stars ‘ deep whisper … is snowing…/

the ghost of all tales… “

***

(from „Theophil Magus – Living in America” // Copyright © 2011 by Leonard Oprea. All rights reserved. Leonard Oprea created the Breathing, an original type of essay in Romanian and world literature.The Breathing is a short, simple yet profound meditation on human condition, a meditation ended by a haiku. But – this haiku does not finish the meditation. In fact, it re-opens this reflection to new questions and responses on human destiny. There are 100 Breathings in Leonard Oprea’s work „Theophil Magus – Confessions 2004 – 2006”, ed. „Universal Dalsi”, 2007, Romania)

Lasă un răspuns

Categorii

